A Kitchen Table Kind of Grace: When Grace is Greater Than All Our Sin

img_4257

I don’t feel good enough for God. I haven’t done anything big for Him. I have made a lot of mistakes. When I look back at my life, at my decisions, at my heart, there  are many days when I just feel like I am not under God’s Grace, or that I shouldn’t be. I feel as though I don’t deserve it. I have been apathetic to Him on many counts and so naturally, I feel that He should probably be apathetic to me in return. There are days when I talk about life’s difficulties more than I pray about them. There are decisions I make without even pausing a second to wonder what God would think about them. Christ gave His whole life for me, and yet I find it hard at times to sacrifice even a few seconds in my day to be devoted to Him. I am a sinner. And I know it.

But I also know some truths about Jesus that changed my “not good enough” line of thinking right around this morning.

When Christ called us to die to sin, when He called us to rise to new life with Him, He also called us to do life with Him. He didn’t mean for just an hour every Sunday morning, or for just a few seconds in Grace before each meal. He meant that He wants our hearts to beat for Him, our lives to cling to Him, our hands and feet to move with Him.

He wants a relationship with you. He wants to know you personally. He wants to do your everyday life with you. He wants to speak with you and reach into your life even when your not dressed up in your Sunday morning church clothes. He wants to change your life while you’re still in your sweatpants at 10:00 on Saturday morning, and while your hustling out the door for work on Monday morning.

Mark 2:15 “While Jesus was having dinner at Levi’s house, many tax collectors and “sinners” were eating with him and his disciples, for there were many who followed him.”

Christ didn’t come for the perfect. He came to die for the sinner, and then rose to give new Life and to continue doing life with those same sinners, who now being washed by His Grace, come to sit at His feet. He came to sit down for dinner with people like me who used to fight over household chores. He came to make clean the people who don’t feel good enough for God. He came for the broken people. He came for the people who have messed up, whose lives seem ruined by bad decisions and sin wrecked circumstances. He is the God of the sinner. He is the God of the sick. He is the God of the imperfect. He is the God of your everyday life. He is the God of Grace. And He is in no way apathetic to your struggles or to where you are in life.

Mark 2:17 On hearing this, Jesus said to them, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor , but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

He came to find you right where you are. The stories of the people in the New Testament who walked with Jesus, who sat at His feet, who ate dinner with Him and prepared dinner for Him, show us that Jesus does His big life changing work right in our kitchens, right at our dinner tables, right in our everyday walk with the people in our lives. If you feel like your life isn’t good enough for Jesus, just know that His life was great enough for all of us. His Grace for you leads the King of Glory right down from Heaven and right in through your front door.

The church is a body of mixed up, messed up, Grace covered sinners. We are not perfect, we are broken. We have a  perfect God who sees us in our brokenness and yet still chooses to sit among us sinners. He wants to be with you, to give you your daily bread and to cover you with daily grace.

Jesus is not ashamed of your failings. He is not hindered by your sin. Instead, He waits with the cure written on His hands and He knocks at your door.

Ephesians 2:6-9 And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God – not by works, so that no one can boast.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

