Unfailing Grace: A Savior Who Keeps on Saving Even When We Keep on Failing


There are days in my life when I feel so confident in Christ. So sure that there is abundant life in Him. So sure that there is a plan much bigger than I am. I explained to my husband that lately I have been starting my days out in the Word, resting secure in the life that is to come, and holding on to the Grace that God has provided me for the present day, but then ending my nights in confusion and unrest. Why isn’t God answering that prayer I keep praying? Or why isn’t He answering it in the way I think I need Him to?

And when these thoughts keep creeping up, God seems to be redirecting them towards Heaven. I keep having this overwhelming feeling that this present life is only the beginning, only the entry way to a life far more beautiful than I can imagine. A life far more real.

Colossians 3:1-2 “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”

However, in my present life, it becomes so easy to believe that what is happening right now is what is real and what is important. That if I don’t get my problems figured out right now, I can never be happy. If God doesn’t answer this specific prayer at this specific moment, that I will be crushed. Can I just call myself out for a moment? I am being ridiculous.

Jesus came to earth to reach us in our present lives, that we might become more aware and prepared for the life that is to come. He has asked us to believe in what we cannot see. He has asked us to follow Him on a road that we sometimes walk blindly. We are in the physical, and most days the spiritual feels so far away…it feels so pretend.

Christ didn’t die for a fairy tale, He died for a reality. He died that the scales might fall off of our eyes and that we would one day physically walk in the kingdom of God. And you know what? It’s this promise that gets us through the pain and the seemingly hopeless areas of our lives. God is for you. He wants you to truly live.

Many times we wish for things to happen in our lives so that we can be happy, so that we can be content. And we forget that there is a well of joy just waiting to be tapped into in the realization that there are mansions being prepared for us in Heaven, that our Savior Jesus is coming back for us in the flesh, that our lives will never end because Christ has abolished the expiration date. How many times do we forget that Heaven is real? That eternal life is real? That Jesus is real?

I fail in my doubt often. I am Peter, who has seen Christ and walked with Him, and yet turns my eyes from Him as I begin to sink beneath the waves. But do you know what I picture when I see myself in Peter as He starts to drown? I picture Jesus with the outstretched hand that the Bible describes, reaching in and pulling me back up to Himself. He doesn’t want you to fall. He doesn’t want you to sink beneath a meaningless wave. The waves in life aren’t meant to drown us, but are meant to cause us to reach up and grab hold of that hand that Jesus is always, unfailingly, holding out to us.

Matthew 14:28-31 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

The truth of all of this is that Jesus and the Kingdom He has gone to prepare for us is so incredibly real. It’s a tangible place. It’s a place that He is coming in the flesh to bring us home to. And that changes everything about every aspect of this current life. We live in this world, but it is not our home. We wander through Grace here, but it is meant to carry us through.

When someone tells you they are praying for you, know that your name is really honestly being lifted up to the throne room of God. This is not a movie. This is not a novel. This is truth. And to believe in something the world will tell you is so unbelievable is exactly what we were meant for. Jesus tells us the world does not know Him. Blessed are those who believe but have not seen.

1 Corinthians 13:12 “For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.”

We are those who have not seen everything yet. We have seen the working of God in our lives. We have seen His fingerprints in the lives of those around us. We have seen His provision. We have read His words. But there is coming a day when we will see Him, as He is, in the Home that is awaiting us.

If today you are caught up in the struggles of this life, know that God is bigger than them. Know that God is holding you in the palm of His hand and that this life is only a chapter to a very real story. You have the power to live this life Gracefully even when this world does not show us grace, because God is carrying you through it. What faith it would take to smile when the world wants to bring us to tears, to have hope when the devil wants it to disappear, and to live life knowing that we never really die. We are in the world but not of it. We are loved by a King, but the world has not yet seen Him. And we are set apart by Grace, to live in the joy of the Lord and to live lives that are full because of His love for us.

 

Leave a Reply

