The Strength of the Weak: Grace to Live a Powerful Life


Sharing your struggles with the world is hard. It makes you vulnerable. It makes you second guess your decisions. It places a sort of magnifying glass over your life, and suddenly, everybody knows about the pain. But do they also see the strength? Because I’m guessing your pain has also ignited something inside of you.

Isaiah 40: 27-31 “Why do you say, Israel,“My way is hidden from the Lord; my cause is disregarded by my God”? Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

Isaiah is giving a prophecy of the life that is to come, but maybe it’s possible that a sliver of that new life, that new strength, can be found in you now. “He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.” Are you weary? Have the struggles in your life caused you to grow faint? There is hope, friend. Maybe you feel broken by struggles with things like infertility, relationships, health issues, loneliness, or pain. But I bet you have had glimpses of light shine through. I’ve bet you have contemplated what God could do with this, how you could be refined through this. What does it mean that when we are weak, then we are strong? What does it mean to be more than conquerors?

For me it has meant that God is the light at the end of my dark tunnel, at the end of my dark days, at the end and in the midst of my hard battles. I’ve discovered that this world has created a veil with words like pain, suffering, struggles, addiction, and unfulfillment. That veil covers our eyes to the possibility that we can overcome. It is impressed upon our minds that there are battles which are too hard, that there is pain that will overtake us, that we will be broken and can’t be fixed.

Matthew 19:26 “Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

I have found strength in Jesus. Only He can heal the blinding pain and replace it with fulfillment. Don’t you know that God works for our good? Don’t you know that Christ came to redeem us from the things that hurt us? Jesus didn’t just die to save you from the big church words, sin and death and imperfection. He died to save you from the things that hurt. He can heal you physically and spiritually and emotionally. He has changed the entire trajectory of our lives. We are no longer bound by the things which were once set out to break us. The bondage has been lifted. He has replaced the idea of destruction by the these things with the reality of refinement. One of the biggest defeats over the devil is possibly that Christ turned absolutely everything about sin and death and pain on its head. Sin? He washed us clean from it. Death? The entrance to Heaven, no longer a sentence but now a rest. Pain? Only temporary, not meant to destroy us but to remake us. Pain is not something Jesus has allowed to enter into His kingdom, it can not pass through the gates of Heaven. It is now only a residue of sin which will one day be totally and completely removed by Him.

Want to know why I no longer feel defined by my infertility? Why I no longer feel that my life can’t be whole? Because Jesus has made all things new. Not just eternal things, but present things. I prayed for peace, and friend, Jesus can provide it. I prayed that God would use my life for good, that He wouldn’t let me be destroyed by a desire I can’t shake. And you know what He gave me instead? A mission field. A new life. A new purpose. A rebirthing of my soul.

Do not put your life on hold because of the trouble of this world. Do not let your heart stop pounding for the passions God has placed there. Do not stop pursuing fulfillment in the great and mighty things God has set forth for your life. The biggest lie of the devil is that you won’t be able to find joy outside of the plans you have set for yourself. But the biggest truth of God is that in Him is life. New life.

Cultural, Emotional, and Physical expectations do not define us and they can not contain us. We are citizens of Heavens. A home far from here, but an eternal identity that has left the mark of a courageous spirit, rooted in the love of the Father. Live this life with power, with the authority of Jesus, and with the undeniable joy of the Spirit. Laugh at the days to come.

I refuse to wake up 80 years old one day with the realization that I never lived the life God had created me for because I was too busy mourning for the things that never came. I refuse to say that infertility beat me. I refuse to stop loving and to stop serving. Maybe you’re not there yet…but you can be, friend. A prayer for peace and for fulfillment in Christ is never a prayer gone unheard, it’s never a prayer that will go unanswered. Take a second look at those glimpses of light that keep trying to shine in. Keep looking up. Keep following Him.

It’s the beginning of a new week, friend. And I woke up this morning with a determination to pursue a new dream. I didn’t get there on my own and I didn’t get there quickly. Instead I pressed my hands hard in prayer and leaned in close to the comfort and the courage of my Savior. You can press hard too. And you can live a beautiful and powerful life. Don’t be afraid to set down your pain. Don’t be afraid to allow growth from your struggle. And don’t be afraid to take the hand of Jesus and walk into something completely new.

Acts 5:20 “Go, stand in the temple courts,” he said, “and tell the people all about this new life.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

