Day 2 of Advent Joy 


Dear Reader, 

 Two years ago in January we brought home this tiny kitten. We were living in a small apartment in the cutest little Wisconsin village. I spent my days teaching piano lessons to nine sweet kids and led music alongside my husband every Sunday morning at church. Our life was simple, but so sweet. And yet we were about a year into our struggle with infertility. God had given us this beautiful life and yet something was missing. I was home a lot during those days as I taught a few lessons from the electric piano we had been given and had set up in our living room, and so it seemed like the perfect time to introduce a new little life into our world. We didn’t know that even now, years later, we still wouldn’t have a baby of our own, but God made sure that our lives weren’t empty of playful childlike energy when He sent us this little kitten. The first time we met her she crawled up into my husband’s lap and went right to sleep. She made a beeline for us, like she had known us her whole life. She is keeping me company these days too as I am home again. I am so thankful and filled with joy at the thought that God would give us so many simple yet beautiful gifts. I look around at our life today and while sure, there are things I would love to add, it is true that even if what I have now is all I’ll ever be given, I have a life crafted by the perfect and understanding hands of my Father God who sees my heart and graciously fills my life with so many moments of joy. I’m praying you have some of these quiet moments of reflection in your own beautiful lives. Sometimes the best memories are tied up in the smallest packages. I used to think I needed a lot to be happy…but now I see that true joy is found in the simplicity of a life well lived in the adoration of our Father God and His heart for us. 

In Him, 

A Fellow Grace Wanderer 

Leave a Reply

