Day 10 of Advent Joy 


Dear Reader, 

 “As the Father has loved me, so I have loved you. Now remain in my love. If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in His love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and your joy may be complete.” John 15: 9-11 This morning I heard a sermon on Mary. It was about how she surrendered her life to the will of God. How she said yes to maybe the hardest job in the history of the world, to give birth to the Son of God and then later to see Him die for all of us. She said yes to a life that wouldn’t make sense to the world, and yes to the power of the Holy Spirit. To obey the will of God and trust His heart is so hard for us who cannot always see Him. And yet it is by saying yes to God that we find true Joy. Mary knew that and Christ reiterated that truth with the words He spoke in John. Maybe God is asking you to do something hard this Christmas, or to walk a hard road, or to surrender the plans you thought you wanted for your life. Mary said yes to God in all of those things, and she was able to experience the absolute closest relationship with Christ. This brought her the greatest Joy. The hardest things in our lives are often only doorways to deeper relationship with the Savior of our souls. Christ came to bring you Joy that would last. Hard days aren’t meant to defeat you and beautiful days are yet to come. And I pray these last ten days have brought you to a deeper realization of that. I pray this Advent prepares us all to start saying yes to God, yes to the entrance of Christ into our lives, yes to the power of the Holy Spirit, and yes to the Joy that Christ was born for. He lived, died, and rose that you would live in His Joy and carry His light. 

In Him, 

A Fellow Grace Wanderer

Leave a Reply

