A Grace Note: Unexpected Places of Joy 


Dear Reader, 

It doesn’t matter what you do, it matters how you do it and why you do it. I’m sure someone has said that before, but those are the words that are speaking to me today. When we are kids we get asked the question, “what do you want to be when you grow up?”. We can pick anything in the world they tell us. But often times what we do picks us, and we find ourselves in a place we didn’t expect to be. I wanted to be a mother. I wanted to be a teacher. I wanted to be a writer. I also strangely enough wanted to marry a Power Ranger (90’s kid reference). Today I find that I’m not a mother, but I still hope to be one someday. I find that I’m not a school teacher, but I’m about to start working with the smallest kiddos again very soon. I find that I’m not really a writer, I only have a small personal blog. And I find that I married someone better than a Power Ranger, I married a man who supports what I do, however glamorous or not glamorous it is. He has let me pursue all my crazy dreams, and he’s remained optimistically encouraging of them all. My point today is that most likely you aren’t where you thought you would be or who you thought you would be. Life hands us hard battles and curveballs but God hands us Grace and Joy and Strength to handle them all. Knowing the God of Grace changes our perspective. Your life may feel small, but you are not insignificant. Christ came in the smallest and most humble way imaginable. We thought He would arrive in a more majestic way, we thought His Life would begin noticeably bigger. He was the most important person ever to be born and yet He came in the quietest way possible. How He arrived didn’t define who He was…why He arrived did. God has shown us that small and simple are huge and beautiful in His eyes. He has shown us that He almost always works in a way we do not expect. I am determined to be Joyful. I am determined to see God at work in every area of my Life. I am so hopeful for the future, and I am striving hard to be content in the places God has put me. It’s not the “how you got where you are” that matters. It’s the “why you’re there and how you thrive there” that does. God’s got a plan, take Joy in that.

In Him, 

A Fellow Grace Wanderer

Leave a Reply

