A Grace Note: Our Life Begins on Christmas Day


Dear Reader, 

“And in despair I bowed my head; “There is no peace on earth,” I said: “For hate is strong and mocks the song of Peace on earth, good-will to men!” Then pealed the bells more loud and deep: “God is not dead nor doth He sleep! The wrong shall fail, the Right prevail, with peace on earth, good-will to men!” – Henry Wadsworth Longfellow 1863 

This song reminds me of the world this year. It reminds me of myself. I was the one who said there is no peace on earth. I was the one who in despair bowed my head. Infertility hit me so hard this year. I cried more days than I didn’t. I struggled with it more than I kept hope. I worried more than I prayed and I looked away from God instead of right at Him. But you know what? The past two days I have been filled with inexplicable Hope in what is to come. God is not dead nor doth He sleep. He is present, Alive, Powerful, and so attentive to our cries. The Bells of Christmas Day will ring every year for eternity, because nothing can ever take away the Hope that day brings for us. The Christ Child brings us the Hope of new Life, the Gift of Salvation, and the Beauty of His presence. He is God with us. He is God for us. Hard years don’t define us. We are defined by the Hope of Christmas Day. It is our new beginning and the Light to every form of darkness. Your world will never get too dark as long you carry His Light. I keep telling myself that our strength in Him is made evident by our ability to have Joy even in our darkest nights. That’s how you defeat the hard things. That’s how you live even though you die. The Joy of Jesus lights every room of our heart and shines out every window of our life. I find my strength in His Joy and I carry it with me into every battle. Merry Christmas, friends. Praying the Joy of Jesus lets you win every battle in this new year. 

In Him, 

A Fellow Grace Wanderer 

Leave a Reply

