A Grace Note: The Good, The Bad, The Grace


Dear Reader, 

In this first day of the New Year I find myself wanting to hold on to a few things from the previous year. There is much talk of new beginnings and chances to start over, and I fear that throwing away the hard lessons of last year will prevent anything new from sticking around. Our lives are built on the experiences that God sends our way, the good and the bad. We are who we are today because of who we were and how we handled yesterday. Grace is the only remedy to a year gone bad, but it’s also the only way we can celebrate a year gone well. Would we set the resolutions we’ve made for this coming year if we hadn’t lived through what we did last year? God is constantly leading us, building our life stories on the chapters that came before. This year is not about writing a new book, it’s about turning to the next chapter. God allowed me to fight a hard battle with infertility for the last three years. I was broken…and He’s just now starting to rearrange all my broken pieces. He’s planted a new Hope in my soul. He has used the past to establish who I will be in the future, and all along this journey of life on earth He has been guiding me, opening and closing doors, and covering me in Grace. Last year may have been hard…but it was important. This year my resolution is to allow God to build on the foundation He has been laying all along, and to document His moments of Grace on the way. 

In Him, 

A Fellow Grace Wanderer 

Leave a Reply

