A Grace Note: Abide With Me 


Dear Reader, 

The dishes don’t always get done, even though I know full well that standing in front of my kitchen sink scrubbing away the dirt of the day reminds me of how Jesus hand washed me in the washing waters of His Grace. And last night I neglected to write in my prayer journal, even though I know that’s where I can document the Grace that God is showing me in my life. And yet tonight, while my weary feet still ached from the work of today, I washed my dishes and I put our clothes in the washer and my heart is singing this hymn on repeat: “Abide with me, fast falls the eventide, the darkness deepens, Lord with me abide. When other helpers fail and comforts flee, help of the helpless, Lord abide with me.” And it’s not a complaint tonight, and I’m not feeling helpless. I’m just feeling held by my God who loves me. I so want Him to abide with me in the way He is tonight all the days of my life. My life isn’t perfect right now, in fact it’s kind of a beautiful mess. My husband is sick with the flu, I’m about to transition into something new again, my plans have changed and then changed again, and yet I can feel God guiding me, guiding Us. I don’t know where I’m running to in this life, but I know whose arms I’m resting in tonight. Our Father God desires to be our Rest just as much as He desires to be our Hope and our Strength. Our feet will grow weary as we walk this earth, but may our souls never grow weary of our God who daily intends to Abide with us, in our hearts and in our homes. His Rest is just as important as His Strength He gives us to be more than conquerors. Abide with us tonight and always Lord Jesus, Father God, Holy Spirit. We need You in all of Your forms and in all of ours, weary or strong or broken or together…all we need is our God, and all that He desires is to be near us.

In Him, 

A Fellow Grace Wanderer 

Leave a Reply

