On Dry Land: When God Uses the Holy Water of Life

 

Exodus 14:21-22 “Then Moses stretched out his hand over the sea, and all that night the Lord drove the sea back with a strong east wind and turned it into dry land. The waters were divided , and the Israelites went through the sea on dry ground, with a wall of water on their right and on their left.”

Moses has been on my heart these days. Such a random filling of my thoughts but seemingly significant. I am so connected to my God through the idea of His washing waters. I keep finding myself being drawn in by the idea of rushing rivers, babbling brooks, vast oceans, quiet lakes, and possibly most intimately by the running of water in my kitchen sink as I scrub the dishes clean and am reminded of how God gently washes away my own dirt. I see Him in the waves and in the ripples and in the filling up. I hear Him in the rushing thunderous sounds of the river in the trickling down of the brooks. My grandmother asked me a few weeks ago if my church uses Holy Water. I answered no, as my church is protestant, but I’m beginning to think now that the answer I gave her was not correct.

I am reminded of my baptism. I am reminded of how the washing waters of God met the simple waters of earth and how the two combined and signified new life stepping forth, signified a dying with Christ and a rising with Him. I think how God speaks to me as I stand at my kitchen sink, as I am humbled by the work of the day yet strengthened by the waters He sends to wash me clean. I see how the rivers and streams and lakes which surround my house yield to His power, how each one is given a different amount of strength and how each one serves a different purpose. My eyes are opened to the significance in the glasses of water each of my fellow women in my life group drink each Monday evening as we gather together to commune and to pray. Does my church use Holy Water? Yes, I am certain we do. It doesn’t sit in a special gold bowl blessed by priests and inviting us in, but it does cover us. It has washed us. It is etching our hearts out by its continual entering into our lives.

And now weeks later God has placed on my heart stories of Moses, stories of a man who picked up a staff and with the power of God parted the waters of a sea and led all of God’s people across dry land. It was a demonstration of God’s power. It was a connection between the Water and the Word. It was a display when the Waters came tumbling back down of how God washes our hearts clean of what is evil and places us on the shores of what is Good, of how God powerfully gifts to us our Freedom.

John 4:13-14 “Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

The Water of life sometimes comes in storms, or in hurricanes, or in peaceful rivers, or in quiet trickling brooks, or in the everyday rushing of faucets. It comes in the ordinary and in the hard and in the extraordinary. We come to these moments of Washing, and if we are honest there are days we think that we will drown. But that is not God’s intent. The Water of Life, the Washing Waters of God, are Life giving…not life breaking.

Matthew 14:27-31 “But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” “Come” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him.”

God uses the water to wash, to clean, to restore, to save. And He uses His power to allow you to walk on it, or to part it so you can walk on dry land, or to reach underneath it and pull you up from it. But what I am most recognizing these days is that no matter how God’s Water of Life is at work, it is working towards something Good.

You weren’t meant to drown, my friend. You were meant to cross from death to Life on dry ground. You were meant to be Washed in His Washing Waters only to be clothed in His Grace. You were meant to step out from your boat of safety only to walk out on the Water in a miraculous way. Grace in the Washing Waters only marks the beginning of your journey with God, ending up on the dry land of Heaven is your destiny.

Revelation 22:1-5 “Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, as clear as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb down the middle of the great street of the city. On each side of the river stood the tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, yielding its fruit every month. And the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations. No longer will there be any curse. The throne of God and of the Lamb will be in the city, and his servants will serve him. They will see his face, and his name will be on their foreheads. There will be no more night. They will not need the light of the lamp or the light of the sun, for the Lord God will give them light. And they will reign forever and ever.”

Whether God is allowing you to walk through huge trials at the moment, or through a period of rest and restoration, He is still calling you to come out to Him. He is still asking you to step out of the boat like Peter and have faith that you can walk upon the waves. He wants to wash you in His Grace so that you can stand before the oceans of this life and experience the power of your eternal life as you see Him part the waves and make a path for you to cross. The life of those who follow Christ is never easy, instead it is gloriously refining. Take heart in your battles today, have faith that you will be lifted up above the waves and that His water is for saving. You will not drown. You will rise.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

