The Language of Thanksgiving: Day One

“Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus”  

1 Thessalonians 5:18 

One year ago I did a series of posts, simply choosing to give thanks. I was facing a time in my life when I felt discouragement and a language of complaint entering my heart. Last year was my hardest year yet. And at the time of those posts, I hadn’t even faced the hardest days. But friends, I feel like I’m finally coming out on the other side. And it doesn’t mean life gets easier. It simply means that life, whether good or bad, has purpose in the Kingdom. I have sensed my language often slipping back into that language of complaints, and I plan on fighting against it with the language my Heavenly Father has destined me to have, the language of Thanksgiving. So I’m reviving this series again with 10 consecutive days of simply Thanks, for what I have, for who God is, for wherever He is leading me.


 Day one: Our home. Specifically this room in the photos above. There is a certain time of day when the light floods in and mingles on our humble church pew. This room holds the hutch that sat in my great grandmother’s home, reminding me that family is a bond that speaks love throughout the generations. And the clock that sits up on that shelf reminds me of all this time I’ve had with this man who calls me his wife, who speaks with patience and a kind heart, who loves me for reasons I’ll never understand. 

What are you thankful for? What has God poured into your life? How is He changing your language? No matter your circumstances, give thanks, because it is the language of Heaven and with it comes healing in Jesus. Jesus took bread, broke it, and gave thanks. Like He was breaking it open to show you that we may never understand grace if things are always whole, that you become whole when you fill those broken places with Him, and our lives suddenly find their meaning when we start pouring out praise to our Father God. 

Leave a Reply

