The Language of Thanksgiving: Day Two

“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you. I have summoned you by name. You are mine.” Isaiah 43:1 

I have a friend whose child is suffering. Hearts are breaking because of the brokenness that had infiltrated their lives. Her child has lost all confidence in their identity and feels alone in a world that is crowded with people and opinions and judgment. 

Today, I was going to tell you how thankful I am for slow Saturday mornings, and cinnamon peach pancakes, and sunshine coming in through the kitchen window. But I am more thankful for the promise I am able to give to those who feel alone and unloved and isolated, and who are certain no one can love them forever. Friends, that promise is Jesus. 

“I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with an unfailing kindness.” Jeremiah 31:3 

No person on this earth can ever be everything we need in life. No person can always be there or can love without failing. But Jesus CAN and He DOES. Identity is a crushing word these days. We are judged for it. We are broken by it. We are categorized and chastised because of it. Some of us die for it. But to those who want an uncrushable identity, one that brings freedom over oppression and love over hate….look to Jesus. He can define us, and our new definition will read as follows: beloved, cherished, unbreakable, powerful, worthy, accepted, and risen. We rise with Christ. 

” Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died – more than that, who was raised to life – is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.” Romans 8: 33-34

I’m putting my photo up here today because I know I complain about who I am, I know my own language of destruction towards myself can break me. I am not perfect. But I am His and He is mine and His banner over me is love. And for that I am thankful. I am thankful that I can promise you that someone WILL love you forever. I am thankful that I can assure you that you are chosen, accepted, and saved from the darkness of a fallen world and from all that hurt and shame and sadness. I am thankful that the one who is capable of all of this is Jesus. He does not fail us. He will never give up on you. He fights for you. 

Change your language today from exhaustion, failure, isolation to thanksgiving, faith, and power. With Jesus comes Life not destruction. 

2 thoughts on “The Language of Thanksgiving: Day Two

Leave a Reply

