The Language of Thanksgiving: Day 3 

“Remember the Sabbath Day by keeping it holy” Exodus 20:8 

I met a little girl this week who is afraid of loud noises. And my heart skipped a beat because, aren’t we all? Aren’t we all afraid of the loud noises in this world, the ones that say we aren’t good enough or the ones that make us feel small and fragile?

 I was thinking today about how Jesus went to quiet places after being surrounded by the loud voices and the masses and the people reaching out to Him. He rested and He went to a place where the voices of the world were quiet enough that He could hear God.

“After He had dismissed them, He went up on a mountainside by Himself to pray.” Matthew 14:23

 I’m thankful today for our God who has always called us to rest, who has set that within His law and also His gospel, that we would be still and know Him, that we would just be with Him on the Sabbath for awhile. 

The loud language of this earth is that we work, and that we run, and that we climb ladders, and we dream bigger. But God is big enough for the both of us. Exhaustion is not what He has for us, but rather peace. Peace doesn’t mean an easy life. It doesn’t mean lazy. It simply means that we have found the balance between being in this world but being found in God. 

Quiet places often lead to the most powerful forms of Grace. If your life is loud today, take just a moment of stillness with Him. Listen to that worship song. Sit awhile with His word. Look out over His creation. Know that He loves you. I’m thankful that our ever powerful God has shown us beauty in the quiet and still places. That He revives us after we’ve come through the storm. That He leads us beside quiet waters and that He restores our souls. 

“Be still, and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10 

Today let your language be that of rest, of peace, of Thanksgiving. Let the loud world fade to quiet for a moment. Let God’s voice in. 

4 thoughts on “The Language of Thanksgiving: Day 3 

  1. Jane Catherine Rozek says:

    I once belonged to an old-time fundamental church that was more mental than fun! We worshipped, we kept the laws and still, we wanted a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. She felt like she was pounding on a huge wooden door saying, “Let me in. Let me in.” One day she became so tired of fighting to get through to Jesus, she finally just leaned on the door in silence. It was then she heard it. A clear strong voice was saying, “My child, just stand aside so I can open the door and come into you.”

    Your article sparked my memories! Thankyou. Your post is so well written. Yes! I love that scripture: “Be still and know that I am God.” That is the only way to hear Him!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam Olson says:

      I loved hearing your story! Thank you for your kind words. I loved what you said about hearing Him say “stand aside and let me open the door”. So many times I find myself trying to open that door on my own, but instead I find myself blocking the way! I’m so thankful we have a God who wants to come to us and abide with us! Thanks again, Jane!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

