The Language of Thanksgiving: Day 5 

You may say to yourself, “My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me.” But remember the Lord your God, for it is He who gives you the ability to produce wealth, and so confirms His covenant. Deuteronomy 8: 17-18

It is true that when things go according to my plan, I feel secure and in control. I wish I could say that my praise for what God does in my life is most authentic when everything is going right, when I should clearly see God’s hand in the blessings that come my way. But I have found that’s not really the way my heart works. 

God has made Himself most known to me in the midst of my heartache. His name has been most glorified in my life when I have been at my lowest. Surrender has become a way of life for me. I have seen God’s grace in the storm. I have watched as He picked up my broken pieces. I have felt His mending and renewing. And I have experienced all of this at points when I have had absolutely no control of where my ship was headed. And I have fallen deeper in love with Jesus because of it. 

Do I wish my hard times had simply passed me by? Many days, I think my answer is yes. But if I’m being honest, I am becoming more and more grateful for them because they are the times in which I have seen Jesus and felt God most clearly. 

Without everything that has happened in my life I would not be exactly here, I would not be exactly in this place. I have thought many times that I wish my life was perfect, but living in a fallen world this cannot be. Instead, because of sorrow, God has brought depth into my life. Because of hurt, He has instilled me with strength in His arms. Because of disappointment, He has taught me to have Hope in Him. All my bad, He has used for Good. 

I feel His presence in my life more strongly now when things begin to go right, because I know His faithfulness to me when things have gone wrong in my eyes. He stands alone as the most Holy, the most Loving, the most Right. And to Him, I surrender all. 

I encourage you to examine your language in suffering today, that it might be filled with hope and strength in Him. That it might be filled with thanksgiving, so that when God brings you through this you can say, I have praised Him in the storm and He alone has delivered me. 

Leave a Reply

