40 Days of Prayer: Conversations With the King Day 6 


Dear Reader, 

I had been thinking for years that it felt selfish of me to always ask for things from God but hardly ever offer things to Him. I began to shy away from asking Him to supply all my needs, because culture had taught me it might be rude to ask for too much. However, the truth is that it is more prideful of me NOT to ask God for everything. Asking God to fill my every need is an act of humility. Feeling like I owe God because I’ve asked so much of Him already, only highlights my desire to provide for myself and to stand on my own. But God WANTS me to fully lean on Him. The truth is that there is nothing that I can offer to God that He needs. This is Grace, that He didn’t need us for one single minute but that He desired to be with us for all of eternity. Relying on God for our every need and believing He will provide it is exactly the kind of humility He asks of us. We aren’t taking advantage of Him. We are surrendering to the greatness of His love and to the power of His provision. 

In Him, 

A Fellow Grace Wanderer 

Leave a Reply

