40 Days of Prayer: Conversations With The King Day 11


Dear Reader, 

Today we’ve been grasping hold of some Sabbath rest. As I was listening to the sermon this Sunday morning I was asked to consider what it really means to be a disciple of Jesus. If I claim to follow Him, then I claim to desire to be more like Him. What does this mean for my prayer life? I think it means that on my worst day and on my best day, I continually seek my Father’s face, that I continue to commune with Him in honest and real conversation. As Jesus walked with His friends, and preached on the mountain, and even as He hung on a cross, He continually spoke to the Father. There are days when I have felt defeated, and in my defeat I have turned down the dial on the volume of my Father’s voice. Instead of calling out to Him, I have wrestled in silence. But Jesus never wrestled in silence. He cried to God, He gave thanks to God, He proved to us that we have a God who is not silent and because of that neither should we be silent. I’m not sure what you’ve been praying over so far on this 40 day prayer journey, but I want to encourage you to not fall silent. Whatever is on your heart, bring it before the Father. Whether it be praise or thanks or anguish and despair, God wants it. Because He wants all of you. If we are to give Him all of us, that means we are going to have to stand before Him even in our imperfections. I’ve tried to cover my heart in silence from the Father for too long, and maybe you have too. But He wants you to seek His face. He assures you that if you seek Him you will find Him. So keep those prayers coming and watch Him move. 

In Him, 

A Fellow Grace Wanderer 

Leave a Reply

